Home Page

RESORT REVIEWS

Akeld Manor Country Club, Akeld, Northumberland
Anfi Beach Club, Gran Canaria
Cerro Alagoa, Albufeira, Portugal
Chayofa Country Club, Tenerife
Club Casablanca, Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
Club Excelsior 2, Play des Ingles, Gran Canaria
Coconut Mallory Resort , Key West
Cypress Pointe, Orlando, Florida
Flamingo Hilton, Las Vegas
Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Gran Anfi, Gran Canaria
Lanzarote Beach Club, Lanzarote,
Llochanhully Woodland Club, Carrbridge, Scotland
Marriott Desert Spring Villas, Palm Desert, Nr Palm Springs
Osborne Club, Torquay
Palms Golf and Country Club, Tenerife
Palm Springs Tennis Club, Palm Springs
Paradise Club, Tenerife
Pearly Grey Ocean Club
Pestana Madeira Beach Club
Pestana Miramar
Pestana Village, Madeira
Plas Talgarth, Wales
Polynesian Isles, Florida
Puerto Anfi, Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Quaysiders, Ambleside
Sahara Sunset, Benalmedina, Costa del Sol
Seasons at Laugharne Park, Wales
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmedina, Costa del Sol
Sunterra Resort North Bay, Lake Arrowhead
Sutton Hall Timeshare Club
The Club Mougins, South of France
Anmation Photos

AKELD MANOR &  COUNTRY CLUB, AKELD, NORTHUMBERLAND
This is a lovely resort in Northumberland. It consist of about 20 cottages, although they are building more. It is set around courtyards and looks like it has been converted from barns with new ones built to fit in. We had a two bedroom cottage. There were two large bedrooms, one with double bed and one with twin beds, lounge with big window and fully equipped kitchen. The children (6 and 3) loved the large trampolene in one of the courtyards, instead of a playground. It was a quiet resort although all the cottages were full. We had the small pool to ourselves each morning when we went for a swim. It was lovely and clean with a Jacuzzi at one end. There was also a sauna and relaxing area. They had a fully equipped unsupervised gym free of charge for guests to use. Upstairs they had videos to rent and a snooker and football table. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked appetising. The staff were friendly and helpful. The nearest town was a few minutes drive away with a couple of small supermarkets well stocked. I would definitely recommend visiting here with children because they could play outside on the courtyards and ride their bikes safely. It was quiet and peaceful at night. The bar welcomed children.
Akeld Manor
Tourist Information about Northumberland
Name: Wendy Lishman Date of Visit:  May 2001
Also visited: August 2003
Email: wendylishman@onetel.net.uk

ANFI BEACH CLUB, GRAN CANARIA

This is one of my favourite resorts and was recommended to us by some of the timeshare touts. Anfi Beach Club is part of a complex which consists of Puerto Anfi, Monti Anfi and a new one which is being built. Everything you need is there, including a small manmade beach, a harbour, small island filled with cactus, beautiful swimming pools and gardens, whirlpool,the mountains behind the resort, and plenty of sports and activities arranged for adults and children. There is also a creche for young children. 

The apartments are lovely, well furnished and equipped with everything you could possibly need, even to the extent of CD and Video players. 

You have a choice of restaurants and bars, some with entertainment, and evening buffet events are arranged which are a very good standard and include wine. 

The resort is just outside Puerto Rico and there is a bus stop right outside which takes you into Puerto Rico or the other way where you can visit Playa des Ingles. The nearest airport is about 28 miles away. 
 

Anfi Beach Garden

The pool and gardens at Anfi Beach Club taken from our balcony 
Tourist Information about Gran Canaria

Website

Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  February 1998 Email:
CERRO ALAGOA, ALBUFEIRA, PORTUGAL

Only the fourth floor of this apartment complex is timeshare, the rest of the resort is classed as a 3 star Aparthotel. RCI class it as a Quality Resort standard and the apartment was certainly not as nice as the Gold Crown resorts we have stayed in, but clean and nothing really wrong with it. We had an enormous balcony but some of the apartments only had small balconies. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment but it had privacy for four as the bathroom was along a corridor leading off the living room and dining room. The hotel itself was of a good quality with an outdoor pool and a lovely warm indoor pool, gym, sauna and jacuzzi. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was out of order while we were there. There is a games room with snooker, pool, pinball machine and darts. There is a restaurant where you can have a buffet breakfast for less than £4 and also evening meals, but we did not dine there. The Dog and Duck Pub is also in the hotel and has entertainment every evening. It is in a very handy position only ten minutes walk away from the Old Town and 20 minutes from the New Town which is called The Strip. There were also restaurants nearby.

Cerro Alagoa

Tourist Information about Albufeira

Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  October 2001 Email:

CHAYOFA COUNTRY CLUB, TENERIFE

We stayed here on a Bonus Week- it is situated on the outskirts of Los Christianos but not within walking distance.  There is nothing much around the resort so you either need a car to get around or there is a bus stop right outside.   Taxis are available of course, as well and were not expensive.   We stayed in a studio but it did have a double bed as well as bed settees so I did not have to make the bed up each night.  The quality of the furnishings and fittings was very good.  There is a swimming pool and hot tub, tennis courts, gymnasium and a bar with evening entertainment arranged, 

Chayofa

This is the only photograph I could find at the Chayofa Club - fortunately it has been taken into the sun so you can't see me! 

Tourist Information about Tenerife

Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  November 1998 Email:

CLUB CASABLANCA, PUERTO DE LA CRUZ, TENERIFE
We stayed here on a Bonus Week and it was our first stay in the North of the Island which is a lot greener than the south. Unfortunately you can't have the greenery without the rain and we did get a couple of days of rain and some cloud, although it was warm. We moved to the south of the island for our second week where we got more sunshine. However, we did enjoy exploring a different part of the island and it has a different character than the south. The apartments are very pleasant, although not particularly large. There is a swimming pool, bowling green and bar/restaurant on site with entertainment twice a week. A meal with other owners/exchangers was arranged to a local typically Spanish restaurant which made a pleasant evening out.
Club Casablanca

Tourist Information about Tenerife


Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  March 2001 Email:

CLUB EXCELSIOR 2, PLAY DEL INGLES, GRAN CANARIA
The Club Excelsior 2 is rated a Resort of International Distinction with RCI. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with one bathroom. There was no washing machine or dishwasher.The apartments were of a good standard and nicely furnished and in a very convenient location, just a few minutes from the beach and restaurants and shopping centre. The resort itself however, had no bar, restaurant or entertainment arranged and I didn't hear another English voice while I was staying there. In fact, I heard very few English voices in Playa Des Ingles. There was an attractive swimming pool area. We stayed here one week followed by a week at Puerto Anfi near Puerto Rico.
Club Excelsior 2
Tourist information about Gran Canaria

Name: Vivienne Hayes Date of Visit: March 2002 Email:

CLUB LAS ADELFAS II, PUERTO DEL CARMEN, LANZAROTE
Club Las Adelfas is a small but pleasant resort built around a swimming pool with a Club House at one end of the complex. We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment and had a balcony from the lounge and also from the bedroom. Some apartments however, only have one balcony and apparently some apartments do not have a window in the bedroom. We were surprised to find that there was no air conditioning or ceiling fans in the apartments as I am sure this is the first time we have found that in a timeshare apartment. As it was extremely hot we certainly missed having air conditioning and found difficulty in sleeping. Entertainment was arranged in the Club House a few evenings during the week and there was a reasonably priced barbecue one evening and a roast dinner served on Sunday, both evenings with entertainment. There were meals served on other evenings and drinks were very reasonably priced with a Happy Hour each evening at 5 pm. The resort was in a good position with lots of bars and restaurants nearby and about half an hours walk into the centre of Puerto del Carmen, although it wasn't really necessary to do that as there was plenty happening nearby.
Club Las Adelfas

Tourist Information
Name: Vivienne Hayes Date of Visit: September 2003 Email:

COCONUT MALLORY RESORT, KEY WEST
It is near the Key West airport and near where you enter Key West. I believe there are 16 units to a building, which is 4 stories tall. There is an elevator in each unit. Check in went very quickly, since it's a smaller Resort. People there were very friendly. We were wandering around the parking lot, not knowing were to go for something, and one of the employees stopped and asked if they could help. That's a very good sign. The setting is among palms and other tropical plants and trees. The ground level is for parking. The 1st Floor is actually one level up (2nd level), and the 2nd Floor is actually level 3. Our unit was on the 2nd floor, and was a townhouse. The main floor had the Living Room and Patio, Dining Room and Kitchen, but no bathroom. That was a negative to us. The second floor of the unit had two bedrooms and two smaller baths. We had a great view from the master bedroom and a good view from the deck off the Living Room. Everything was in good condition. I was surprised that there was no garbage disposal in the kitchen. There is a shuttle bus on Key West that cost $7.00 per person for a day, and it stops in the Resort in front of the office. I would rate it 8.
Coconut Mallory Resort

Tourist Information about Key West

Website
Name: Jim Guffey Date of Visit:  January 2002 Email: jbguffey@earthlink.net

CYPRESS POINTE, ORLANDO, FLORIDA
The accommodation is set out in a series of blocks spread across two areas, phase 1 and phase two. The buildings are four stories high with no lifts. Stairs noisy at night with people returning with children. The lounge, dining room and kitchen are open plan. The lounge has a 4 foot tv with films and nintendo available. Quite pricey but soon internet tv, films and games will be available for a one off fee of twenty dollars a week. the kitchen is very well equipped with microwave and dishwasher. There is a washing machine and tumble dryer in a cupboard in the hall. The two master bedrooms have a queen size (bigger than king size) and a colour tv. There is a jacuzzi bath, two sinks and a massive walk in shower that would hold about 10 people easily (if you are that way inclined). The small bedroom has twin beds and there is another bathroom. There is air conditioning with separate controls for one of the master bedrooms. There are two balconies. there are two swimming pools, phase one is large with two slides and a volcano with bridge. Phase two has a smaller pool but just as nice. There is a free gym with weight machines, bike, treadmill etc There is a small charge for tennis, mini golf and basketball and a kiddies playground. There is also a snooker room and games room near the pool. You enter the apartment with a credit card style key which I thought was wonderful for security purposes. There was also a safe in each master bedroom for one dollar a day for both. The gift shop on site was a lot cheaper than the so called bargain shops on International Drive. Disney World is about 10 minutes away. It is a wonderful resort and deserves its gold crown status. 
Cypress Pointe

A view of the lovely apartment

Tourist Information about Orlando

Name: Wendy Lishman Date of Visit:  October 2000 Email: wendylishman@onetel.net.uk

FLAMINGO HILTON IN LAS VEGAS

Well, what can I say about Las Vegas but WOW! I loved it even though it was so busy and hot, hot, hot. I loved wandering round looking at the absolutely wonderful hotels with their special effects. My favourite was watching the dancing musical fountains outside the Bellagio Hotel  and unless you have experienced them you couldn't begin to understand what they are like, and The Venetian is certainly worth a visit as it has a canal going right through the hotel where you can have gondola rides. We stayed a week but could have stayed longer as there is so much we did not have time to do.  A visit downtown one evening to see the fantastic lazer light show is a must. 

The Flamingo Hilton is situated about half way along The Strip where it is all happening but the Las Vegas Hilton is situated right at one end and set back so would not be as handy. 

We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment which had a large kitchen/dining/living area, bedroom with a room with jacuzzi for two (interesting!) and washbasin leading off the bedroom and next to there was a shower-room. 

You don't need to hire a car in Las Vegas as the airport is only about three miles away from The Strip and there are monorails and buses if you don't want to walk.

The swimming pool area is very attractive and there are gardens with flamingos, penguins and fish with a choice of restaurants and bars. 

We stayed the following week in Palm Springs.

Flamingos Hilton

The lovely gardens with flamingos


Tourist Information about Las Vegas
Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  May 2000 Email:

FORT LAUDERDALE BEACH RESORT
Although not as fine as some other resorts where we have stayed, we enjoyed our stay and plan to return. I rank it a 7.5,but because of other features it is equivalent to us of an 8. This is an older Resort - I would guess about 30-40 years old - that has been updated/remodelled several times. It is 18 stories, with 2 elevators. We never had to wait very long for an elevator.The higher up you are, the better your view. Some units face the Atlantic, and others face the intracoastal waterway. We were on the 3rd floor, so we looked out on parked cars and palm trees. Although there were just 2 of us, we had a 2 bedroom - 2 bath unit. This is a one bedroom unit and a lock-out unit. When you have both units the magnetic card keys work both exterior doors. Each unit has its own bathroom, kitchen and thermostat for heat/AC. The Living Room and Dining Room are large. There is a patio off the Living Room. There is a sofa bed and a Murphy bed in the Living Room, so 6 people could stay in a one bedroom unit. However, there would only be one bathroom. The main bathroom only had a shower stall. The lockout unit bath had a tub with shower. Both had glass shower doors. Both baths were small, which I attribute to the age of the unit. Neither had a Jacuzzi or equivalent, and we missed not having one. They had been somewhat recently remodelled since all fixtures were of the newer style, including the new low water volume toilets. All the furniture looked pretty new, and in general the furniture was sturdy and in good condition. The bedroom in the lock-out unit was larger than the other, so we used it. Both beds were King size, and had great, firm mattresses. We slept very well. The closet for the regular bedroom was very large, but for the lockout unit was very small. The regular kitchen was small and there was no table there. However, there were all the usual items, including a microwave, toaster and coffee maker. Unfortunately, the refrigerator did not have an automatic ice maker. The lockout kitchen had a mini-refrigerator, sink, 2 cook units, toaster and coffee maker. An important comment. My wife left a neck cushion that she used since her neck was bothering her. When we left Ft Lauderdale we drove to Key West for several days. She discovered that the neck cushion was missing while we were in Key West. We called, they had found it. We stopped by the Resort on the way back to the airport and got it. That made a definite plus in our attitude about this resort. They had a number of activities, some on premises and some away, some free and some not. A restaurant on the premises was closed, but was used for several events, including a free continental breakfast Sunday through Thursday. Sunday they presented the Activity schedule and sold tickets to the events that required them. Monday the Resort Manager gave an update on what was happening there and with Time Shares. Tuesday through Thursday there was a chance to visit with other guests. The large screen TV in the restaurant showed an NFL game on Sunday, and a Movie of the Week on Monday and Thursday afternoons. Again, we enjoyed our stay, and plan to return.

Ft Lauderdale Beach Resort

Tourist Information about Fort Lauderdale

Name: Jim Guffey Date of Visit:  January 2002 Email: jbguffey@earthlink.net
GRAN ANFI, GRAN CANARIA
We have stayed at the Anfi complex three times now, the first time at Anfi Beach, the second time at Puerto Anfi and this time at the newest one, Gran Anfi. You can only exchange into them every four years. I really love it there as the apartments are gorgeous and it is such a lovely setting. We knew what to expect of the apartments, but my sister, who came with us, was there for the first time and on entering the apartment kept wandering round saying Wow! We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment, and the main bedroom had a Jacuzzi in the corner and a large room leading off with two sinks, toilet, bidet and walk-in shower. The second bedroom had a bathroom and shower-room. There was a large lounge/kitchen area and the kitchen was fitted out with a washer, dishwasher, microwave and all the electrical items you could need. There was a bed-settee in the lounge. The apartment had a large balcony with four comfortable sun-loungers and six cane chairs and round table. There was a view of the sea, swimming pool and gardens from the balcony. There was a television in the bedroom and one in the lounge with satellite channels and as well as the news channels which sometimes are the only ones you can get, there were some of the channels we view in England like BBC1 and 2 and Channel 4, along with Sky Movies 1 and 2.

There is a swimming pool and Jacuzzi in each apartment block and attractive gardens with a lot of different types of palms, cacti, flowers and shrubs, and it is very nice just to have a walk round each one. A small beach, island and harbour run alongside the complex.

There are different types of restaurants in the complex and a few more about 15 minutes walk away. There is a Bella Pasta, Tapas Restaurant, T.Mex, Steak restaurant, an expensive restaurant which didn't get many people in, snackbars, takeaways and a restaurant that had a themed buffet each evening. This was reasonably priced at 15.50 Euros so we went most evenings and you could have soup, a nice salad selection and then try a bit of this and a bit of that of the hot main courses, then there was a nice selection of sweets and ice-cream. Sometimes though some of the items weren't quite as hot as we would have liked. There were different activities that the entertainment team arranged like aquagym, boules, water polo etc and the children could be kept amused at the Children's Club and I am sure their parents enjoyed being able to relax. The was a variety of machines in the arcade which children could play on, and various sports like tennis and a centre where you could have a massage.

Apart from a show each evening at 9 pm consisting of either dancers, singers, acrobats etc., there wasn't a lot to do in the evening apart from dining and having a drink. As there was a bus stop outside which went to Puerto Rico, Mogan and in the other direction to Playa del Ingles it was convenient to visit other places. A taxi to Puerto Rico was only 4 Euros and a taxi from the airport was 46 Euros. You could take a boat trip from the Anfi complex to Morgan which was called Little Venice and it was a lovely place to wander round.
Gran Anfi Lounge-kitchen

Website

Tourist Information for
Gran Canaria
Name: Vivienne Hayes Visit: February 2007 Email:
HOLLYWOOD MIRAGE, TENERIFE
The Hollywood Mirage is part of three complexes, The Beverley Hills Heights and The Beverley Hills Club situated on a hillside. We were lucky as our balcony was just between two apartment blocks so we had a view of the sea but some apartments would only look across to another apartment block, some having a view of the swimming pools. There were two swimming pools and entertainment arranged in each complex. We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment which was a duplex so you had to go upstairs to the main bedroom and bathroom, both bathrooms having a Jacuzzi. It took about 15 to 20 minutes to walk down to the promenade but there were restaurants in each complex and also restaurants a few minutes walk away. There were children's activities arranged and there was a sports centre which you had to pay extra for.
Hollywood Mirage View

Forgot to take a photo of the Mirage, but this is a view from our balcony - sea in the distance!

Website

Tourist Information

Vivienne Hayes Date of Visit: November 2004 Email:

LANZAROTE BEACH CLUB, LANZAROTE

This is a quality resort with six swimming pools which is great for anyone who does not like a large resort as the resort is split up into areas with apartments built around each swimming pool.  There is a man-made lake and beach, and there are activities and entertainment arranged for adults and children.   We stayed in a Studio but it was a good size and we actually had a free stay there but had to agree to a presentation, but we decided we did not like the points system they were trying to sell on a piece of derelict land with no sign of building, but it took us five hours before we were able to get away from the salesman. The apartments are situated at Costa Teguise and only a few minutes walk away from a large choice of restaurants and bars. There are restaurants on site, one of which serves an extremely reasonably priced buffet meal each evening. 

Lanzarote Beach
The man-made beach and lake 

Tourist Information about Lanzarote

Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  October 1999 Email:

LLOCHANHULLY WOODLAND CLUB,CARRBRIDGE,SCOTLAND
This is a lovely resort close to Aviemore. The Cairngorm Mountains are only a short drive away and the Moray Firth coast is also close by. The Scandinavian-style pine chalets all have two bedrooms, a fully fitted kitchen, lounge and a conservatory with dining furniture in it. Trees surround the chalets to give some privacy but some of them are close together. Our conservatory was not overlooked but some faced the roads. There are plenty of leisure activities and an Ugie Bear club for the 5 - 12 years olds. The pool was small but very warm and quiet. We enjoyed the Splashdown which is held twice a day where they fill the pool with floats, diving rings etc. The Turkish bath and Sauna would be lovely to ease aching bones after a day skiing. They have there own dry ski slope which was closed for refurbishing the week we were there. It is reasonable priced a £6.00 for one hour including all equipment hire. Surrounding the chalets in a circular route was a trim trail with obstacle course equipment dotted around. The children loved completing this. In the middle of the woods they had their own lake for trout fishing. It is a wonderful peaceful resort and should be gold crown in my opinion (I am not an owner by the way)
Llochanhully


Tourist Information about Carrbridge
Name: Wendy Lishman Date of Visit:  July 2001 Email: wendylishman@onetel.net.uk

MARRIOTT DESERT SPRINGS VILLAS, PALM DESERT, NR PALM SPRINGS

This must be one of the best timeshares in the world and I mean the world. It was absolutely immaculate in every way. We had a villa with the most magnificent view you could wish for, overlooking the seventh green of the Marriott's eighteen hole golf course with the mountains in the background. The kitchen had everything you could wish for including a compact washer/dryer concealed discretely, the living and dining area had the most excellent lighting and dimmer system with really nice picture on the walls, with large plants to finish it all off. There was also a fire, which was never going to be required, as the temperature outside during the day never fell below 90 degrees and over 100 degrees.With five very nice pools to choose from you where never far from cooling down. The tv of course being American was large with cable, vcr and movie on demand, The bedroom had the biggest king size bed I have ever seen complete with radio alarm tv and vcr, plenty of cupboard space and chair. Next to the open plan bedroom was a large Jacuzzi bath, which my wife made full use off. The toilet area had a large shower twin wash hand basins and toilet. Large mirrors everywhere. The whole villa is fully air-conditioned. The sun deck had all the usual equipment, two tables four chairs and a sun bed. The Marriott had its own bus service around the complex which was very large, shop with most essentials and some gifts, reception area had some entertainment and a 56" tv. The grounds where kept immaculately. Just some of the places of interest in Palm Desert and Palm Springs Area: Joshua Tree National Park (we almost stood on a rattle snake here) you will see Coyote, Bobcat, Golden Eagle as well as the Sidewinder. This park is almost 800,000 acres. Palm Springs Air Museum (hear how the Americans won the war) Palm Springs Aerial Tram, the worlds largest rotating tram cars. You start at 2,643 feet then up to a height of 8,516 feet to the mountain station. Three thousand power windmills, generating the power for the whole surrounding area. 

Marriott Desert Springs

The living/dining room area 


Tourist Information about Palm Springs

Name: Stuart Pettigrew Date of Visit: September 2000 Email: spettigrew@jcmb.ucs.ed.ac.uk

OSBORNE CLUB, TORQUAY
This has to be the nicest UK resort we have stayed in so far. The apartment we stayed in was huge with two big bedrooms, large lounge with a bay window with a view over the bay of Torbay. It was well equipped. Torquay shops and front was about a 15 minute walk away up and down a very steep hill. With children you may need to drive into the centre. Meadfoot beach was just across the road with a café and a shop. The kids had a great time looking for crabs and fish. The best bit about the holiday was the outdoor swimming pool. During the summer there is a life guard on duty from 9.00 to 6.00. It was sunny almost every day we were there so the children swam in the pool most afternoons. Whilst in the pool there was a fantastic view over the bay. The pool was heated. There was plenty of seating and when it wasn't busy you were allowed floats in the pool. They served ice creams and drinks. Next to the pool was a tennis court that you could book for an hour at a time. There was also a putting green. They had a well equipped gym and sauna area which cost £20.00 a week to join. In the hotel part was an indoor pool which you could use at no charge. There were also two very nice restaurants in the hotel and a terrace area with a good view serving breakfast, Devon cream teas etc. The menu looked good but we did not try it. They had a video library with modern up-to-date films that cost £10.00 for the week to hire as many as you wanted. The staff were helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who fancies a holiday in the south coast of England.
Osborne Club
The swimming pool at
The Osborne Club
Tourist information about Torquay

Website
Name: Wendy Lishman Date of Visit: August 2002 Email: wendylishman@onetel.net.uk

PALMS GOLF AND COUNTRY CLUB, TENERIFE

We stayed at this resort which is situated on the Golf Del Sur on a Bonus Week  We liked the apartment very much which was a one-bedroom with a large bathroom with jacuzzi and also a separate toilet and a large balcony.   There were five swimming pools set in lovely gardens although they  were rather cold.  The resort is only a few miles from the airport, and the planes went over every couple of minutes or so and were so low down that you felt you could nearly  touch them!   If you are a plane spotter this resort would be absolute bliss for you, however, my family aren't so I certainly wouldn't stay again on the Golf Del Sur.  Also we found it a bit too quiet, but other people I am sure, would enjoy that aspect of it. 

There is a complimentary bus which takes you to the Chayofa Country Club on the outskirts of Los Christianos and then you can either get a bus which stops outside or a taxi to the centre.

Palm Golf

The planes fly over about every two minutes all day starting early morning!! 
Tourist Information about Tenerife

Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  November 1998 Email:

PALM SPRINGS TENNIS CLUB, PALM SPRINGS

The sun shines most of the year at Palm Springs and the resort is situated at the base of the San Jacinto peak.  Although in the middle of the desert there is plenty of greenery.  If you are interested in golf then there are numerous golf courses, and at the resort itself there are tennis courts and a restaurant.  The restaurant however, when we stayed there was only open during the day and we were extremely  disappointed when we arrived about 2.45 pm to be told it had closed and we were starving.  As the temperature was about 108 degrees at the time and being English we certainly weren't used to such temperatures, we decided to wait until later before walking for 15-20 minutes downtown.   My husband doesn't like driving abroad so we had not hired a car so it was handy  being within walking distance of downtown where there were numerous restaurants and bars. 

The apartments, as we have found in all the American resorts we have stayed at, were larger than in the European resorts with nice furniture.  We stayed in a one-bedroom but had two bathrooms.  Free popcorn is supplied every afternoon, which I must admit did not excite us, but if you like popcorn then there it was for you!   Also they had a couple of complimentary buffets during the week in the late afternoon and they  had a  large selection of videos for which there was no charge. 

There are three swimming pools and hot tubs.  You can take a tour round the area to see where the stars live now or used to live. 

Palm Springs
 

A view of the Palm Springs area 

Tourist Information about Palm Springs



Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  June 2000 Email:

PARADISE CLUB, TORVISCAS, TENERIFE
The Paradise Club is an attractive resort on a hillside situated in Torviscas which is a quiet part of Tenerife with views of the sea and the island of La Gomera with a backdrop of the mountains. One problem, of course, with being up a hill is that you have to get up the hill!! We found it no real problem during the day but did get a taxi a couple of times back in the evening - cost just over 4 euros. However, we didn't need to go right down to the promenade each evening as there were three very reasonably priced restaurants and entertainment at the Club and also other restaurants not as far as the promenade. The resort is well maintained and clean. There are two swimming pools, a children's pool and a Jacuzzi (didn't appear to be heated!!). The apartments are pleasant and well furnished and some have recently been refurbished; the two bedroom has an ensuite shower room to the main bedroom plus another bathroom with a large corner bath. There are various sporting activities eg basketball, giant chess, mini golf, petanque, pool, table tennis, squash and volleyball and there is also a children's club. We were pleasantly surprised to open the fridge and find cartons of milk and orange juice, also a bottle of water and sachets of tea, coffee and sugar. On the Saturday there was a paella lunch and drinks - all free. A bus ran from the Club at certain times during the day at 1 euro each way but we didn't use it as preferred to have a walk during the day.
Paradise Club

A view of the complex 

Tourist Information about Tenerife


Website
Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  Oct 2004/Sept 2008 Email:

PEARLY GREY OCEAN CLUB, TENERIFE
The Pearly Grey is a very nice, friendly complex and the staff were always very helpful. We stayed in a lovely, large two-bedroom apartment with two bathrooms as my sister came with us. We were not in the main building but adjacent to it so I don't know whether the two-bedroom apartments there are the same size. We could see the sea from our balcony but unfortunately did have a large sun terrace between the sea and our balcony. There was a Welcome Party the day after we arrived with lots of Sangria supplied and a Farewell Party with 'Champagne'. Callao Salvaje is not the place to stay if you like a lot of nightlife and are fond of going on the beach as it is quite a small place with only a small black sand beach. There are, however, a variety of different restaurants nearby - Chinese, Indian, Italian, French, English, Spanish and there is a supermarket just across the road with a larger one a few minutes walk away. If you don't want to hire a car.there is a bus stop a few minutes walk away to Los Cristianos in one direction and Los Gigantes in the other. There are the usual type of daytime activities organised like aquafit, bowling, darts, pool, quizzes etc. and it was enjoyable just to relax around the pool and join in some of the activities when we were able to have a chat to the other guests. We had a meal at the Chinese Buffet, the Indian Restaurant and another restaurant which I forget the name of but we dined four evenings at the Pearly Grey - they had a barbecue evening which was 12 Euros and a Canarian evening at 13 Euros but only 22 Euros if you booked both at the same time. They served a large plateful of food which was very good, just the one course, and you had a drink included at both of them. On the other two evenings we had a four course Sunday Roast at 17.50 Euros which included soup, a large selection of salads, main course and a selection of sweets, all of which you could help yourselves to. It was 18.50 Euros for the four course International Evening with soup, again a lovely selection of salads, and seven different International dishes and you could help yourself to a bit of each, and then sweets. No drink was included with these meals but I could recommend all of them. Getting a sun lounger was never a problem and there always seemed to be some available even later in the day. In the evening there was a quiz and perhaps a bit of audience participation starting at 9 pm and then there were some good artists on, normally about 10 pm followed by dancing and karaoke until 12. Not being into living it up until the early hours we were quite content to have a nice meal and then go in the bar for the entertainment. Although there were people staying there for two weeks and some for three weeks, we did feel that a week had been long enough for us and were happy to move on to the Paradise Club at Torviscas for our second week, but we had enjoyed our week there very much.



Pearly Grey Ocean Club

Wonderful view from our balcony. Well - we could see the sea over the top and looking to the side!

Website

Tourist information about Callao Salvaje
Vivienne Hayes` Date of Visit: September 2008 Email:

PESTANA MADEIRA BEACH CLUB
We stayed one week at this resort and the following week just round the corner at the Pestana Miramar (see below), both lovely resorts which I can really recommend. We exchanged our two-bedroom two bathroom apartment for similar and it was a large apartment, nicely furnished with a sea view. The Beach Club is part of the 5 star Carlton Madeira Hotel with use of their facilities. There were two outdoor swimming pools and an indoor pool with a gym, but you had to pay 5 euros to use the indoor pool, which we didn't actually get round to doing. There were restaurants and bars in the hotel, one of the bars with different entertainment each evening. As we both retired last year we decided to be economical and did not dine at the hotel but chose reasonably priced tourist menus in nearby restaurants. You could have a 3 course meal including bread, coffee, Beer, Wine or soft drink and a glass of Madeira Wine for less than 15 Euros at one of the restaurants opposite the hotel, and others nearby for 12 Euros for three courses. We also dined at the Indian Restaurant opposite which we enjoyed. We were extremely good and on three mornings did Body Relax at 8.30 am and Yoga one morning and also did Aquafit two afternoons. The Club is in a convenient position and it takes about 15 minutes or so to walk along the road and then down the hill to the start of the main shopping centre. Of course, with going down the hill you then have to walk up it!! There were, however, buses and taxis for anyone not feeling very energetic.

There was a Welcome Party with coffee and cakes served and also a Cocktail Party early one evening with free wine and canapes and a free photograph taken.

There are lots of things to do in the Funchal area with interesting museums and lovely gardens. There is now a cable car to the Tropical Gardens at Monte and also a new cable car opened a few weeks ago across to the Botanical Gardens. If you enjoy walking then there are a lot of Levada Walks.

The weather was mixed when we were there with sunshine, cloud and some rain, but very warm, and unfortunately we picked the worst day to go on a tour of the west side of the island which is supposed to have spectacular views, but it was so misty that we didn't see a great deal which was very disappointing.
Pestana Madeira Beach

This is a view from the balcony of our apartment looking towards The Savoy Hotel and Funchal Harbour

Website

Tourist Information about Madeira
Name: Vivienne Hayes Date of Visit: October 2005 Email:

PESTANA MIRAMAR, MADEIRA
We stayed the first week at the Madeira Beach Club (see above) and the second week at this resort which is part of the 4 star Hotel Miramar. Seven years ago we stayed at the sister hotel Pestana Village (see below). We exchanged our one-bedroom apartment for a studio for four people which was a large room with twin beds and partly divided from the living area with a bed settee and kitchen and a bathroom. There wasn't a one-bedroom apartment available in Madeira at the time we booked but it was a nice apartment with a view of the swimming pool. The hotels are linked to each other and you can use the facilities of both. There are two outdoor swimming pools set in a lovely garden area and an indoor pool and jacuzzi at the Miramar and an indoor gym, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room at The Village. In my review below of The Village I mention how warm the swimming pool was, well - things have changed - it was quite cold now! There are various restaurants in the complex, but as at the Madeira Beach Club, we decided to be economical and ate out at a variety of very nice restaurants offering reasonably priced tourist menus. Two very nice ones situated next to each other a few minutes walk away had terraces looking out towards the sea and a three course meal with bread, coffee and a glass of Madeira wine cost 11 Euros. We had a couple of nice Indian Meals in the restaurant in the Lido Monumental Shopping Centre and two Chinese Meals, but walked down to Funchal for the Chinese Meals in the Marina Shopping Centre just at the bottom of the hill which gave an opportunity to have a look round Funchal in the evening. They did a lovely banquet for three people, but it was tucked away in a corner of the shopping centre and one night there was only us dining, which was a shame because it was a very nice restaurant.

There was different entertainment in the beautiful bar area each evening, and we usually finished off our evenings there after dining out and having a stroll around.

There was a Welcome Party with coffee and cakes served and also a Cocktail Party early one evening with free wine and canapes and a free photograph taken

The hotel is situated in what is referred to as The Hotel Zone which is a pleasant area and as you walk along you have views looking down towards the sea. It is about 20 minutes walk downhill to the start of the main shopping centre in Funchal but there is a bus stop outside. I must admit I found Funchal more attractive than the last time I visited. There are lots of things to do there with lovely gardens to visit and interesting museums. You can take a cable car to the Tropical Gardens at Monte which we did, and a new one had just opened to take you to the Botanical Gardens. There are lots of Levada Walks as well.

As it is a very green island with lots of flowers, then rain can sometimes be expected and the weather was mixed when we were there with sunshine, cloud and a bit of rain but very warm - the worst day for weather being when we decided to do the west tour of the island with its spectacular views, which unfortunately we didn't see.
Pestana Miramar
This is a view from our balcony overlooking the swimming pool and gardens

Website

Tourist Information about Madeira
Name: Vivienne Hayes Date of Visit: October 2005 Email:

PESTANA VILLAGE, MADEIRA

The apartments are part of the Pestana Village Hotel which is graded 4 star, and within walking distance of the centre of Funchal, although uphill on the way back! There are, however, plenty of restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk of the apartments. The swimming pool and gardens are lovely with a large variety of flowers and plants, and the pool was the warmest we have ever been swimming in. 

The apartments are of good quality but not as large as I would have expected from a Gold Crown Resort, although the actual complex itself certainly warrants it. 

Restaurant and bars are available on site and also a library and Health Club (supplement paid) 

There was a complimentary cheese and wine evening arranged, with an abundant supply of wine and a free photograph taken in the lovely reception area. The nearest airport is 14 miles away. 

Although Funchal is not the most attractive place I have visited, it is OK where the apartment and most of the hotels are situated as they are looking down on Funchal.  Anyone who loves flowers should visit Madeira as everywhere you drive there are flowers growing. 

Carlton Village Pool

The pool was lovely and warm to swim in

Website 


Tourist Information about Madeira

Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  May 1998 Email:

PLAS TALGARTH, WALES
Plas Talgarth is a Barratt timeshare resort. It is a health and leisure club near Machynlleth, in mid Wales. We stayed in the mansion house in a one bedroom apartment which was small but with a very well equipped kitchen. It had a playing table in the lounge with chess, cards, checkers etc which the children aged three and six loved. The heated pool was very warm with a sauna, Turkish bath, and Jacuzzi over looking the pool. The changing rooms were a little on the small side with only two cublicles and eight lockers but clean and tidy each time we went. They also have an outdoor pool and a childrens pool. It is a late check-in at five o'clock but you are welcome to use the facilities before hand. The restaurant look good with different themed nights but with two little ones we did not get to try them. The resort consists of the mansion house in the middle with all the amenities surrounding it and then around that are all different kinds of lodges. Surrounding Plas Talgarth is some beautiful Welsh country side and it is only a short walk to the village of Pennal. They have lots of activities going on in the day especially for teenagers and children and they arrange plenty of sporting competitions. There is also an ugie bear club for the 5 - 12 year olds.
Plas Talgarth

Tourist Information about Powys, Wales


Name: Wendy Lishman Date of Visit: February 2001 Email: wendylishman@onetel.net.uk

POLYNESIAN ISLES, FLORIDA

Although we own a one-bedroom apartment we were allocated a two-bedroom apartment so found it extremely spacious. The apartments are well equipped with nice furniture and the American timeshare resorts do seem to be larger than the European ones. The resort is only about four miles from the Disney Theme Parks and our apartment overlooked a beautiful waterfall.. The resort has two swimming pools, four outdoor spas, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and a putting green.We stayed there at the end of January and the weather was great apart from a couple of days when Florida had the lowest temperature it had had for years. It was a strange feeling sitting in the hot-tub when it was so cold outside.   I don't need to say much about Orlando as you will know that "it is all happening there". 

Polynesian Isles

My hubby beside the fountain and lake at the Polynesian Isles Resort 

Tourist Information about Orlando

Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  February 1996 Email:

PUERTO ANFI, NR PUERTO RICO, GRAN CANARIA
The Anfi complex is one of our favourite places to stay and four years ago we stayed at Anfi Beach. There is Monti Anfi and they are just building another one called Gran Anfi. The apartments are gorgeous - this time we were in a two bedroom apartment and had a jacuzzi in the corner of one of the bedrooms with a shower-room leading off and another shower-room next to the second bedroom. There was a large living/dining/kitchen area with everything you would need in a kitchen, including washing machine and dishwasher. The view from the balcony was lovely, overlooking the swimming pool and the sea. There are various bars and restaurants in the resort, including an Italian and a Spanish Tapas. The restaurant at Anfi Beach served a buffet meal each night which we enjoyed as it had a different theme, i.e. Italian, Spanish, Mexican. There is a small man-made beach, a harbour, and lovely gardens. There is a bus stop outside and it only takes a few minutes into Puerto Rico and you can also travel to Playa del Ingles. We had a Saturday exchange day but only managed to find two flights on a Saturday from Manchester, one in the afternoon which we managed to book and one at 10 pm. There were lots of flights on a Monday and at least £50 cheaper. We stayed at Excelsior 2 in Playa del Ingles the first week and enjoyed the two centre holiday.
Puerto Anfi
The lovely apartment at Puerto Anfi

Tourist Information about Gran Canaria


Website
Name: Vivienne Hayes Date of Visit: March 2002 Email:

QUAYSIDERS CLUB, AMBLESIDE
Quaysiders Club It is a small complex of apartments overlooking Ambleside. The Lake is about two minutes walk with lots of ducks to feed and the pier where you catch the ferry to Bowness etc. There are a few pubs and cafes near the lake. The main shopping area of Ambleside is about 10 minutes walk away along the main road. I was surprised to find a small indoor swimming pool on site. The guide says a spa, sauna and small plunge pool which I mistakenly thought meant a cold plunge pool that you use after a sauna so it was a pleasantsurprise for the children to see a pool. It was small, only about 10 foot by 10 foot but they had lots of fun swimming and playing in it. It was lovely and warm. The apartments were very well equipped and the sofa bed in the lounge was comfortable to sleep on. A grassy area behind the buildings belonging to Quaysiders was great for the children to run about on. There is a communal barbecue for anyone to use. The bar had a selection of videos free of charge for anyone to borrow. Not many new ones but it kept the children amused. The bar shut at 5.00 each evening we were there due to staff shortages.
Tourist Information about Ambleside

Website
Name: Wendy Lishman Date of Visit:  July 2002 Email: wendylishman@onetel.net

SAHARA SUNSET, BENALDMADINA, COSTA DEL SOL
The apartments are very nice but as we had exchanged to apartments in Las Vegas and Palm Springs earlier in the year which were extremely spacious and luxurious it didn't match up to them, but to be fair to Sahara Sunset I think I would be right in saying that most of the European apartments would not be as large as the American ones. They were not as well-equipped as other Gold Crown Resorts we have stayed at, i.e. no washing machine, dishwasher or video recorder but were well maintained. One problem was that there were no lifts and lots of steps to get to most of the apartments. The first one we were shown into was on the ground floor but there were metal bars at the windows and patio doors and a view of the back of a not very attractive apartment building so they changed us to an apartment higher up which meant climbing steps but was much pleasanter.
The resort is situated in a very convenient position only a couple of minutes from the promenade and not much more to a lovely park with a lake. There are lots of bars and restaurants nearby and a bar restaurant on site which had entertainment most evenings and served reasonably priced meals - the meal of the day was only 1000 pesetas (about £4 in my money!) for three courses. There are two outdoor swimming pools and an indoor heated pool with jacuzzi - you had to pay 100 pesetas for 8 minutes in the jacuzzi which I thought was a bit mean as we have never been charged to use a jacuzzi before.
Malaga Airport is not too far away and a taxi cost 2500 pesetas. Benalmedina is an attractive resort with a nice promenade to walk along leading to the harbour - about 20 minutes or so walk from the resort.
Sahara Sunset

Tourist Information about the Costa del Sol



Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  November 2000 Email:

SEASONS AT LAUGHARNE PARK, WALES
On arrival the resort looks really grotty and we thought 'oh no what have we done.' The chalets at the entrance were mouldy, with peeling paint and were even boarded up. It turns out that these are used for storage and for people just staying an extra night or two while they wait for their timeshare or people on a free visit. Could do with a lick of paint or a bulldozer! As we drove to the reception we were made very welcome and given lots of details by a very helpful and friendly receptionist. Our accommodation overlooked Carmarthen Bay and in the distance we could see Devon on a clear day. . It was a quiet and peaceful site. More than made up for the disappointing start. The chalet was very clean and well maintained apart from the oven that beeped constantly when switched on and they could do nothing about it. Good excuse not too cook! It had two bedrooms and two bathrooms, one with a Jacuzzi. . Well equipped with CD player, video and dishwasher. The walk to the pool was down some steep steps or a steep hill so not very good for the elderly. The pool was okay. Did not sample the food in the restaurant or the entertainment. Nice walk into the village along the coast where you pass a boathouse that belonged to Dylan Thomas which is now a museum and café The children enjoyed the giant chess, adventure playground and crazy golf. They have a games room suitable for teenagers to hang out. There are plenty of castles in this area for children to visit.




Laugharne Park
Here is a great photo!!
It is the only one taken by my daughter at Laugharne Park showing the view from the window of her apartment
Name: Wendy Lishman Date of Visit:  July 2001 Email: wendylishman@onetel.net

SUNSET BEACH CLUB, BENALMADINA, COSTA DEL SOL

The apartments are situated right next to the beach and are within walking distance of the lovely habour at Benalmadina.  We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment which we didn't have any complaints about, but it was certainly not as large as some we have stayed in.  There are three swimming pools including an indoor pool and also a health centre with gymnasium. Also available are restaurants and bars. 
 

Sunset Beach

The view from our balcony - as you can see the resort is right next to the beach.

Tourist Information about the Costa del Sol

Name: Vivienne  Hayes Date of Visit:  November 1995 Email:

SUNTERRA RESORT NORTH BAY AT LAKE ARROWHEAD
These wooden condominiums are very well kitted out, here you have very high ceilings with large roof fans instead of air-conditioning. The hall way leads off in two directions, on the left as you come into the condominium is your bedroom with king size bed, large tv, two bedside lights, radio alarm, table and a standard lamp. There are three windows in this room. There is a toilet, shower and wash hand basin adjoining this bedroom. To the right as you come into the condominium is a large cupboard with a iron, iron board and a extra fan if required. Further up the hallway you come to the second bathroom, which has a shower and bath plus toilet and hand basins. The kitchen has everything you could possibly require. Opposite the kitchen is the dining area, well laid out with patio doors onto a porch outside, opposite the dinning area is a wall with a gas fire, past this area and you come to the sitting room. This room has an L-Shaped settee with a table lamp at each end, a large coffee table some very nice pictures on the walls and the large tv, video and hi-fi unit. There is also another set of patio doors again leading to the porch outside.

The Club house consists of a year round heated indoor pool, indoor spa, two redwood saunas, two full size tennis courts, indoor spa, a basketball hoop and a large screen tv. There are lots of good walks in this area plus many nice eating- places. Lake Arrowhead is over 7000 feet up in the mountains hence the hire of a 4x4. Big Bear Lake is only a short drive from Lake Arrowhead with many shops and restaurants; there is also a pleasure boat to take you round the lake. 

North Bay

View of the indoor swimming pool at North Bay 

Tourist Information about Lake Arrowhead



Name: Stuart Pettigrew Date of Visit: September 2000 Email: spettigrew@jcmb.ucs.ed.ac.uk

SUTTON HALL TIMESHARE CLUB
Sutton Hall used to be owned by a wealthy family and has now been converted into Timeshare Apartments so if you would like the feel of living in a stately home then you would certainly enjoy it here. The apartments are gorgeous with top quality furniture and fittings. There are a few cottages next to the house but they lead out on to a car park but I did like walking into the lovely hallway and up the stairs to our apartment which was called The Roulston and appeared to be the only one that had a balcony. How nice it must be sitting there having your breakfast overlooking the large garden, but we decided to go without that pleasure as it was December in England. There is a small indoor pool and Jacuzzi and no-one else used it whilst we had a swim so we felt we were in our own private pool. The Jacuzzi was part of the pool though so not as hot as I like a Jacuzzi to be. You can play bowls and croquet on the lawn and there is also a tennis court. The apartments are equipped with a television, video recorder and dvd player plus a Freeview Box. For anyone not living in England a Freeview Box allows you to watch a lot of other channels but is not like a satellite system where you can watch channels from other parts of the World. There is a laundrette on site. There are no bars or restaurants at the Hall although there are lots of places to eat and drink in nearby towns and country pubs. We only spoke briefly to one couple but I would imagine in summer you would meet people more if they were in the garden, perhaps using the barbecues or walking round the grounds. There is such a lot to see and do in the area, including great walks, lots of very interesting museums, nice market towns, and real stately homes like Castle Howard where Brideshead Revisited was filmed. Sutton Hall is only three miles away from Thirsk where the author of the James Herriot books lived and worked as a vet. If you have read the James Herriot books and watched the films and television series you would love a visit to the museum. We were so lucky to get a Bonus Week for £99 through Dial an Exchange as it was a bargain to stay in such a lovely place.
Sutton Hall
Front view of the Hall

Website

Tourist information about Yorkshire
Name: Vivienne Hayes Date of Visit: December 2006 Email:

THE CLUB MOUGINS, SOUTH OF FRANCE
We travelled to the South of France to spend our holiday at The Club Mougins. The resort is on a hillside just below the lovely village of Mougins. We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment, where there was an ample lounge with a small kitchenette and a nice sized bedroom. There was a large double balcony with access by patio doors from both the bedroom and lounge area. There is a good size sunbathing terrace and a small swimming pool. This is a quiet peaceful resort and I wouldn't recommend it to families with children, as there is very little to occupy them. We enjoyed some well varied evening meals in the pleasant bar/restaurant area.

In the village of Mougin there are many splendid restaurants to suit everyone's taste. We would recommend you take a taxi as the walk to the village is very steep and exhausting. It is also worth visiting Mougin by day to wander round the tiny narrow streets and watch the artists at work. The views from the village are breathtaking. There is an excellent tourist information centre in the village should you require any help and advice.

For those who prefer to leave the hassle of driving behind them, just ten minutes down the road from the resort there are regular buses into Cannes, where the bus station is conveniently situated next to the train station. We travelled by train all along the coast, visiting - Nice, Antibes and Monaco. After the hustle and bustle of the beach area we enjoyed returning to the peaceful surroundings of the Club Mougins.
Club Mougins

Tourist Information about France


Name: Jean Lishman Date of Visit: Summer 2000 Email: jlrl@jlishman.fsnet.co.uk